THE CUCKOO'S CALLING
-5%

THE CUCKOO'S CALLING

(AUTORA J.K. ROWLING)

GALBRAITH, ROBERT / ROWLING, J. K.

16,00 €
15,20 €
IVA incluido
No disponible
Editorial:
LIBROS EN INGLES
Año de edición:
2013
Materia
Libros en inglés
ISBN:
978-1-4087-0400-4
Páginas:
450
Encuadernación:
APAISADO
Colección:
Genérica
16,00 €
15,20 €
IVA incluido
No disponible
Añadir a favoritos

The Cuckoo's Calling is a 2013 crime fiction novel by J. K. Rowling, published under the pseudonym Robert Galbraith. A brilliant mystery in a classic vein: Detective Cormoran Strike investigates a supermodel's suicide. After losing his leg to a land mine in Afghanistan, Cormoran Strike is barely scraping by as a private investigator. Strike is down to one
client, and creditors are calling. He has also just broken up with his longtime girlfriend and is living in his office. Then John Bristow walks through his door with an amazing story: His sister, thelegendary supermodel Lula Landry, known to her friends
as the Cuckoo, famously fell to her death a few months earlier. The police ruled it a suicide, but John refuses to believe that. The case
plunges Strike into the world of multimillionaire beauties, rock-star boyfriends, and desperate designers, and it introduces him to every
variety of pleasure, enticement, seduction, and delusion known to man. You may think you know detectives, but you've never met one quite like Strike. You may think you know about the wealthy and famous,
but you've never seen them under an investigation like this. When a troubled model falls to her death from a snow-covered Mayfair balcony, it is assumed that she has committed suicide. However,
her brother has his doubts, and calls in private investigator Cormoran Strike to look into the case. Strike is a war veteran - wounded both physically and psychologically - and his life is in disarray. The case gives him a financial lifeline,
but it comes at a personal cost: the more he delves into the young model's complex world, the darker things get - and the closer he gets
to terrible danger . . . A gripping, elegant mystery steeped in the atmosphere of London - from the hushed streets of Mayfair to the backstreet pubs of the
East End to the bustle of Soho - The Cuckoo's Calling is a remarkable book. Introducing Cormoran Strike, this is a classic crime novel
in the tradition of P. D. James and Ruth Rendell, and marks the beginning of a unique series of mysteries.

------------------------------------------------------------------------

Novela policíaca ambientada en Londres - El libro fue publicado en abril 2013 recibiendo muy buenas críticas - Solo ahora se ha dada a conocer que el autor Robert Galbraith es el seudónimo de J. K. Rowling, que de esta forma publica su segunda novela para adultos.

Después de perder su pierna de una mina terrestre en Afganistán, Cormoran Strike apenas sobrevive como investigador privado; le queda un solo cliente y los acreedores lo acosan. Por si fuera poco, acaba de romper con su novia y vive en la oficina.
Pero entonces llega John Bristow, que le pide investigar la muerte de su hermana, la supermodelo Lula Landry. La policía cree que Lula se suicidó tirándose de un balcón de un edificio del barrio londindense de Mayfair, pero John lo duda. Strike se sumerge en el mundo de bellezas multimillonarias, novias de estrellas de rock y diseñadores desesperados, mundo que le presenta todas las variedades del placer conocidas por el hombre, la seducción, y el engaño.
Referencias

Artículos relacionados

  • HERE AND NOW
    MONTEFIORE, SANTA
    'Peopled with wonderful characters, it's funny, sad, poignant and heart-warming, a tough subject tenderly handled. Have some tissues handy' Choice MagazineFaced with losing everything, all that matters is Here and Now . . .Marigold has spent her life taking care of those around her, juggling family life with the running of the local shop, and being an all-round leader in her qu...
    En stock

    12,95 €12,30 €

  • SWEET SWEET REVENGE
    JONASSON, JONAS
    The brand-new adventure from the beloved author of The Hundred Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared. Victor Alderheim has a lot to answer for. Not only has he heartlessly tricked his young ex-wife, Jenny, out of her art gallery inheritance, but he has also abandoned his son, Kevin, to die in the middle of the Kenyan savanna. It doesn’t occur to Victor that...
    En stock

    12,95 €12,30 €

  • KISS THE GIRLS MAKE THEM CRY
    HIGGINS CLARK, MARY
    When investigative journalist Gina Kane receives an email from a 'CRyan' describing her 'terrible experience' while working at REL, a high-profile television news network, including the comment 'and I’m not the only one,' Gina knows she has to pursue the story. But when Ryan goes silent, Gina is shocked to discover the young woman has died tragically in a Jet Ski accident while...
    En stock

    9,95 €9,45 €

  • THE SAFETY NET
    CAMILLERI, ANDREA
    Set on the coast of Sicily, The Safety Net is the twenty-fifth novel in the bestselling Inspector Montalbano series by Andrea Camilleri. ***Adapted for BBC4's Inspector Montalbano series*** Vigata is bustling as the new filming location for a Swedish television series set in 1950. In the production frenzy, the director asks the locals to track down movies and vintage photos to ...
    En stock

    12,95 €12,30 €

  • HAYWORTH AND SHAWSHANK REDEMPTION
    KING, STEPHEN
    The Shawshank Redemption - about an unjustly imprisoned convict who seeks a strangely satisfying revenge, is now available for the first time as a standalone book.A mesmerizing tale of unjust imprisonment and offbeat escape, Rita Hayworth and Shawshank Redemption is one of Stephen King's most beloved and iconic stories, and it helped make Castle Rock a place readers would retur...
    En stock

    9,95 €9,45 €

  • THE EVENING AND THE MORNING
    FOLLETT, KEN
    From the bestselling author Ken Follett, The Evening and the Morning is a historical epic that will end where The Pillars of the Earth begins. A TIME OF CONFLICT It is 997 CE, the end of the Dark Ages, and England faces attacks from the Welsh in the west and the Vikings in the east. Life is hard, and those with power wield it harshly, bending justice according to their will – o...
    En stock

    21,50 €20,43 €

Otros libros del autor

  • BLANCO LETAL (CORMORAN STRIKE 4)
    GALBRAITH, ROBERT / ROWLING, J. K.
    La novela más épica de Robert Galbraith hasta el momento. Blanco letal nos ofrece un misterio cautivador y un nuevo episodio muy emocionante en la historia de Cormoran Strike y Robin Ellacott. «Vi cómo mataban a una cría... Cómo la estrangulaban.» Cuando Billy, un joven con problemas, acude al consultorio privado de Cormoran Strike para pedirle ayuda y que investigue un crime...
    En stock

    12,95 €12,30 €

  • EL CANTO DEL CUCO
    GALBRAITH, ROBERT / ROWLING, J. K.
    La serie protagonizada por Cormoran Strike, convertida en una gran producción de la BBC Después de perder su pierna en la explosión de una mina terrestre en Afganistán, Cormoran Strike intenta rehacer su vida como investigador privado. En el terreno personal no le va mucho mejor: acaba de romper con su novia de siempre, por lo que ha tenido que marcharse de casa e instalars...
    En stock

    12,95 €12,30 €

  • EL OFICIO DEL MAL (CORMORAN STRIKE 3)
    GALBRAITH, ROBERT / ROWLING, J. K.
    Además de una trama de suspense ingeniosamente construida y repleta de giros inesperados, El oficio del mal nos ofrece una historia apasionante sobre un hombre y una mujer en una encrucijada tanto personal como profesional. Un nuevo caso de Cormoran Strike. En un paquete misterioso que ha llegado a la oficina, Robin Ellacott encuentra, horrorizada, una pierna de mujer. Su jef...
    En stock

    12,95 €12,30 €

  • EL GUSANO DE SEDA (CORMORAN STRIKE 2)
    GALBRAITH, ROBERT / ROWLING, J. K.
    La desaparición del novelista Owen Quine no altera demasiado a su esposa, convencida de que su marido se ha marchado a pasar unos días solo, tal como ha hecho en otras ocasiones. Por ello acude al despacho del detective privado Cormoran Strike para encargarle que encuentre a su esposo y lo lleve de vuelta a casa. Sin embargo, Cormoran descubre que tras la ausencia de Quine hay...
    No disponible

    20,00 €19,00 €

  • EL GUSANO DE SEDA (CORMORAN STRIKE 2)
    GALBRAITH, ROBERT / ROWLING, J. K.
    La esposa del novelista Owen Quine está convencida de que su marido se ha marchado a pasar unos días solo, tal como ha hecho en otras ocasiones. Por ello acude al despacho del detective privado Cormoran Strike para encargarle que encuentre a su esposo y lo lleve de vuelta a casa. Sin embargo, Cormoran descubre que tras la ausencia de Quine hay mucho más de lo que su mujer cree...
    Descatalogado

    13,00 €12,35 €